MxNet C Api Executor Reshape Question

Hello,

I’m relatively new to MxNet, so apologies off the bat if I have missed something in the documentation or the forums that I should know.

I am using the MxNet C API for inference, and trying to use it for NLP-style tasks where I have varying shape inputs. The first approach I tried was: (1) Bind an executor to a Symbol graph using the maximum size input shapes I allow; (2) Use the MXExecutorBindEX() or the MXExecutorReshape() calls for each new input I have, using the original executor as shared memory, to create a local executor specifically for the current input shape. Then use this local executor for the current input and discard it when done.

The problem I faced with the above approach is too much latency overhead. I was seeing an extra 6.5 - 8.5 ms per call when using these options (depending on if I used MXExecutorReshape or MXExecutorBindEx), compared to measuring the speed when I simply have a single fixed input size.

So the next approach I thought to try was to only allow a fixed number of different input sizes, and create an executor for each input size I support. I just need to pad all input I receive to the nearest allowable size it fits in, and then choose the appropriate executor for that shape. This way I only pay the cost of MXExecutorReshape() during initialization, as opposed to each time I want to process new data.

However when I tried this approach, it became clear that successive calls to MXExecutorReshape() invalidate the executor returned by the previous calls, so that it is only valid to use the reshaped executor associated with the very last call to MXExecutorReshape().