Beginner question: How to predict from Matrix Factorization model

Hi all,

I’m new to MxNet and following the tutorial about movie rating predictions based on Matrix Factorization. I now have a trained model, however, unfortunately the tutorial stops there. It’s not clear to me how to use this model to make predictions. From what I understand I can give it a user id and a movie title id, and it should give me the predicted rating. How do I do that?

Please note that I’m using mxnet.module.module.Module instead of FeedForward. I tried using model.forward and model.predict, but it’s not clear to me what to pass in.

Appreciate any help

Thanks

Module.predict will give you the prediction result. You need to pass in a data iterator for the data you want to predict. What did you try and did it not work?

data = mx.nd.array([1,100])
labelToPredict = mx.nd.array(['score'])
dataiter = mx.io.NDArrayIter(data, labelToPredict);

model.predict(eval_data=dataiter, num_batch=1)

I’m getting “TypeError: source_array must be array like object” with the above. But it’s probably wrong anyway. What I want is give me the predicted score of the user 1 for movie 100. How do I properly construct a data array for this?

What you’d want to do is to feed in a DataIter object that contains "item" and "user" data in a dictionary. In the notebook that you’re following, if you change the code so that the train() function returns the model, then you can call predict for user 1 and movie 100 with the following code:

data = {'user':mx.nd.array([1]), 'item':mx.nd.array([100])}
data_iter = mx.io.NDArrayIter(data, batch_size=1)
score = model.predict(data_iter, num_batch=1)

You can easily modify the code to do batch predictions as well:

data = {'user':np.random.randint(0, max_user, size=(1024,)), 'item':np.random.randint(0, max_item, size=(1024,))}
data_iter = mx.io.NDArrayIter(data, batch_size=128)
model.predict(data_iter, num_batch=1024//128)